As the Deer

When I was a child, one of my favorite songs to sing in Sunday school was “As the Deer.” Some of the lyrics go like this. (Warning: old English)

As the deer panteth for the water
so my soul longeth after Thee
You alone are my heart’s desire
and I long to worship Thee

I once heard that singing in worship is like praying to God. When looking through this lens, it causes me to think about whether I sincerely mean what I’m singing. Does my soul really long after God like a deer panting for water?

Something that I’ve become repeatedly aware of, as in I seem to have to learn it over and over again, is that my soul does desire God. My soul knows Who created it. Whether or not I act on this desire and knowledge is the question.

“The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.”
John 10:10 NIV (Jesus speaking)

“The thief”, from what I’ve noticed, likes to distract me with, well, distractions. I get distracted with the world, and I’m sure I could come up with many examples. I’m sure that you could think of distractions in your own life. Now, this doesn’t mean that some of these things are bad, but when they take our eyes off of who’s important, they become a danger to us.

Yesterday, as I was contemplating recent stupid decisions, (we all have those right? You know, sin.) I thought of how I had just tacked another sin to my Saviour on that cross, and I broke down. My distractions had taken me off track and I was ashamed. I knew exactly what I needed. I always know what I need, and I don’t always choose it. It’s quite frustrating actually.

After repentance, I needed to spend time with my Father; to draw near to Him. Unfortunately, spending alone time with God is not done nearly enough in my life. I think that we sometimes, or maybe a lot of time, push off or ignore the calling of the Spirit to fellowship with the Father.

“Draw near to God and He will draw near to you. Cleanse your hands, you sinners; and purify your hearts, you double-minded.”
James 4:8 NKJV

That evening a word that had recently been spoken over me was brought to my mind.

“Cherished”

How can God cherish me? It continues to baffle me, but I know that it is true. My Father, like He always does, comforted me and drew near to me as I drew near to Him. He loves me and cherishes me amidst my brokenness. He does now and always will. When I lay down distractions and put my focus back on my Father, I find my soul’s desire satisfied.

So, does my soul really long for God like a deer panting for water? Yes, and the water is right here, I just have to drink.

Don’t underestimate the power of spending time with your Creator

“but whoever drinks the water I give them will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give them will become in them a spring of water welling up to eternal life.”
John 4:14 NIV (Jesus speaking) 

 

 


Leave a comment