“I Know”

My inhale draws scratchy
the newborn silence seems to blare
I expected echoes
I expected a response to my roars
a reply of equal decibel
unwelcome dismay fills me
and my fist squeezes tight
around a glass heart filled with the Way
“where are you?”
I squeeze tighter
around the glass heart filled with the Truth
“I need an answer;
an escape from this….this…”
the glass heart filled with the Life cracks in my palm
as I squeeze tighter
“emptiness”
shooting pain
and a whisper passes by
I am the way, the truth, and the life
hot tears stream down my cheeks
tears of joy
I know the Voice
consumed by peace
and overflowing with joy
my hand falls open
glass shatters on the floor below
the Way, the Truth, and the Life
takes His home in me
blood streams down my hand
from broken glass

“it hurts”

another hand grabs mine
a hand with a nail’s scar
pierced

I know

 

 

But God demonstrates his own love for us in this: While we were still sinners, Christ died for us.
Romans 5:8


Leave a comment